Monthly Income Update: September 2011

Monthly Income Update: September 2011

monthly dividend cash flow reportWhen I look back over each month to calculate the total income, I am always amazed that so many “small” deposits (most less than $15) can add up so quickly.

September was no different, with 47 total deposits the DDI portfolio generated passive income of $567.67. That works out be about 1.5 total cash deposits per day, averaged over the entire month and the largest cash deposit since I started tracking the DDI portfolio on the DailyDividendInvestor.com blog!

The best news of all, is that the DDI portfolio generated $1503.59 for the 3rd quarter of 2011, bringing the average monthly income stream to over $500 per month, effectively exceeding my #1 short term goal!

Because many of the best performers and largest holdings within the DDI portfolio are monthly dividend payers, we often end up with the same usual suspects most months bringing in the largest amount cash.

There are a few secondary holdings that also provide good support to the portfolio’s income that are worth mentioning:

  • Lorillard (ticker: LO) brought in $19.50
  • Century Link (ticker: CTL) added $21.75 this month
  • Washington REIT (ticker: WRE) $15.18 and is due for an annual dividend increase before Q4

I only added a small amount of new capital this month ($103.68) which came from some unexpected interest income in my primary trading account that I decided to sweep into the DDI portfolio. Because I contributed $2500 in August, which is well above my goal of adding $1000 per month, I made no large contributions in August and expect to add only $500 in October as I average out my large addition from August.

cash dollar bills daily dividend investor stocks bonds mutual funds gold silver platinum bullion

I am encouraged to see the income stream from the DDI portfolio continue to grow and I am looking forward to bumping up the monthly goal to $600 month in passive income. As markets remain quite choppy, I find that the DDI portfolio has weathered this storm better than many of my other holdings.

My natural inclination is to add as much capital as I can to what appear to be a very stable ship in some rough seas – but with a long term approach, I think it is best to continue adding fixed amounts of income and to continue the organic growth of the portfolio as much as possible.

How can I help you?

As I continue to build and grow the DDI portfolio I’d love to hear your feedback.

If you ever have questions about  the Daily Dividend Investor portfolio please leave a comment or drop me a line – I’m always happy to explain why I’ve made the choices I have. Remember though that I am not an investment advisor or professional and can’t give you personal investing advice. I do believe that one of the best ways to learn is to see what others are doing or have done and model your own behaviors after them.

Wishing you the best in growing your long term passive income!

2 thoughts on “Monthly Income Update: September 2011

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.